top of page
Queensland State Reining Show

The show started on Wednesday with a full day of non-sanctioned events. This was a great test of the new arena setup and all credit must go to gate marshal, Glenn Muir. He rounded ‘em up and kept them coming with consummate skill.

Thursday morning kicked off early with the first of the sanctioned classes, the Novice Horse. This was another 50-horse draw across all divisions. Dennis Neylon and Wimpys Lil Miss (70) made a clean sweep of the Novice Horse championships and the buckles. 

More than 30 Green Rider competitors faced the judge in their classes. Sidney Paech and Onya Wozza (68) won the Green Rider Level 2.

The final event on Thursday was the concurrently run Southern Cross Saddlery Open and Non Pro classes. Noel Watson and Einstein Flashy Jac took out the Open championship with their score of 142. 

Friday is a big day at the Queensland State Reining Championships, first up in the morning were the Rookie Level 1 and Level 2 classes with more than 30 horses nominated. Rookie Level 2 champions, Sharon Leddington-Hill and Migs Shez Dynamite with 71.

Things were less clear-cut among the 26 Rookie Level 1 competitors. There were three riders on 69. In a commendable display of competitive determination, they elected to run off for the champion’s buckle. Mike Adamson and China Doll were the final victors, with Marni Baker on Quirran Lea Spinamiss and Deb Segeren on Ruf Lil Renee sharing the reserve spot.

Another draw of around 30 horses and riders presented themselves to the judge for the concurrently run Darling Downs Vets Intermediate Open, Intermediate Non Pro and Rookie Professional classes. Intermediate Open champions were Helen Balu and Whizkey On The Rocks (71) with Denise Milgate and RKN Two Eyed Kid (70) filling the reserve place. These positions were repeated in the Intermediate Non Pro class. Chris Gould on Malibu Lena and Craig Cowley on Time To Shine were Rookie Professional co-champions both on a 68.  

Meanwhile the Joyce Olsen Memorial Non Pro Futurity riders were warming up. Hayley Saunders on DNA Genetics won all divisions of the Non Pro Futurity with a score of 140. It wasn’t an easy win. Three horses were in reserve position, one point behind on 139: Jason Melling and Ill Be Back, Helen Balu on Mighty Red Pine and Kayla Kington on QMatch Cool Jake. 

The stands filled, the crowd grew restless. They were waiting for Pattern 12 to deliver the Derby horses to them, one by one at the run. Scott Hergest and Spinnin Whiz came out late in the draw to lay down their winning score of 143½ in the Moreton Bay Regional Council Open Derby. Scott and Spinnin Whiz also took home the buckle for the Intermediate Open Derby. Dennis Neylon and Wimpys Lil Miss were a close reserve in these classes with their score of 142½.

In a replay of their clean sweep in the Novice Horse earlier in the show, Dennis and Wimpys Lil Miss gathered up the champion’s buckles for the Limited Open Derby and for all divisions of the Moreton Bay Regional Council Non Pro Derby. 

Our Youth riders started the competition day on Saturday. Chase Huff on Quirran Lea Spinamiss took home the blue ribbon in the Short Stirrup. Grace Christoffel and Lethal Katie (69½) won the champion’s buckle for the Graham Hargreaves Memorial Youth 14 to 18 Years.  Amelia Baker and A Hollywood Whizz also put down a score of 69½ in the Youth 13 Years and Under class to take the champion’s buckle.















Next in the concurrently run Limited Open, Limited Non Pro and Prime Time Non Pro classes. Kurt Melling and Predator threw down the gauntlet with their score of 72 to win both  the Limited Open and Limited Non Pro classes. Denise Milgate and RKN Two Eyed Kid (70½) won the Prime Time Non Pro championship. 

The women of reining came to the fore in the next class, the Michelle Halliwell Memorial Open Ladies.  Nobody could catch Sharon Leddington-Hill and Migs Shez Dynamite who blew them all out of the water with a scorching score of 72. 

Saturday evening and the show was drawing to a close.  Grace Christoffel and Lethal Katie were this year’s Freestyle champions and Grace returned to sing the national anthem in the Welcome Ceremony. 

Enough of this frivolity! It was time for the Backhouse Training Stables Open Futurity.In 10th place with a score of 136 was Jason Russell on Dun It Fancy; 9th place went to Wayne Williams and RC What You Did There with 136½. Craig Cowley and Time To Shine came in 8th with a score of 137. Next in line at 7th and 6th places respectively was Noel Watson on Mighty Red Pine (137½) and SPH Fancy Little Step (138). Yves Cousinard rode Whiz A Little Star into 5th place with a score of 139½, just beaten by 4th place getter David Nixon and Classic Genetics with 140.

Third place went to Ed Smith and Wimpys Dunit on 142½. Warren Backhouse and Smart Lil Roy were reserve champions with a score of 143. John Wicks rode Onya Shiney Nu Toy into the Open Futurity winner’s position with a crowd-igniting score of 144. Congratulations to all owners and trainers and thank you for treating us to a breathtaking competition.

Ed Smith and Wimpys Dunit were Intermediate Open Futurity champions ahead of David Nixon and Classic Genetics in the reserve position. David and Classic Genetics were Limited Open Futurity champions with Yves Cousinard and Whiz A Little Star the reserve champions in this class.

QRHA would like to express our appreciation to the major show sponsors: Southern Cross Saddlery, Darling Downs Vets, Moreton Bay Regional Council, Hogs Breath Café Morayfield and Backhouse Training Stables. Special thanks goes to Hold Your Horses, Hygain Feeds, Tuff Rock and BWS. Thank you also to our other generous sponsors; there are too many to mention here.

  • Newsletter-icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page